The VirginiaFIRST Board of Directors provides governance and leadership for FIRST Chesapeake, the official FIRST Partner Organization (FPO) for FIRST Robotics Competition and FIRST Tech Challenge across the District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia. VirginiaFIRST provides operational, fiduciary and strategic management of FIRST Chesapeake.


Dean Roberts (Chair) – Director of Market Analysis, Rolls-Royce

Bettina Garcia Welsh  (Vice Chair) – CFO, ICF International

Michael Duncan (Treasurer) – Managing Partner, Donnachaidh Associates

Lakshmi Meyyappan (Secretary) – Director of Professional Services, Macedon Technologies

Chris Bjornson - CIO, Accenture Federal Services

Paul Chi – Senior Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton

Robert W. Franceschini – SVP, Deputy Chief Technology Officer, Leidos

Gulu Gambhir – Vice President & CTO, Technology Services Sector, Northrop Grumman Corporation

James Kresge (Past Chair) – Vice President & CTO, Technology Services Sector, Northrop Grumman Corporation

Doug Lawrence – Site Vice President - Surry Power Station, Dominion Energy

Latitia D. McCane – Director of Education, The Apprentice School

Scott McKay – Retired CIO and Sr. Vice President, Operations and Quality, Genworth Financial

Cristie Neller – Vice President, Eastern Pipeline Engineering & Construction - Gas Infrastructure Group, Dominion Energy

Tom Poole – SVP Digital Payments and Identity, Capital One

Brian Snodgrass – Director, Information Technology, Northrop Grumman Corporation

Nick Serfass – Executive Director, Richmond Technology Council

Cedric Sims – Senior Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton

Inclement Weather


In case of Inclement Weather the day of
a FIRST Chesapeake Event,
Please call 804.464.8945
after 5am for updates